Dress Shopping

“I have the perfect ring (& fiancé), & now I want my DREAM DRESS!”

A few things about me:

#1: I’ve had subscriptions to bridal magazines off & on for the past 5-6 years! I love weddings….especially all the details (flowers, food, personalizations, the bridesmaid dresses, the decor….all of it). I even thought about becoming a wedding planner but obviously I have no experience (well i guess now i do!). I’ve been tearing out pages out of bridal magazines (that I kept in a folder hidden away —secret is out) full of images of dresses, cute ideas, etc…

#2: I LOVE designer gowns: Lazaro, Vera Wang, Monique Lhuillier! It’s very hard to have expensive taste….I’ve always had it & I am not changing (ask my parents).

Back to finding my dream dress….

After my engagement, the 1st & only thing I cared about was looking for my DRESS! My mom, sisters & I went to a local boutique (Veronica Couture) in Old City-Philadelphia in late December to try on gowns so I would get a feel of what style looked best…..and Duh, I wanted to try on a bridal gown ASAP! What girl hasn’t been dreaming about trying on a bridal gown ever since she was little…I sure did!! It was very fun to walk out of the dressing room in my 1st gown & show my mother and sisters how I looked! I felt like a bride….a bride-to-be about to start planning her wedding! After trying on about 10 dresses (all different types), I confirmed that I love mermaid style & open back/strap dresses (two completely different styles). Of course, I am always difficult but I do know what I want….

My vision for my bridal gown is classic, fashion forward, sexy & romantic!

I spent hours flipping through bridal magazines & web surfing! My friend Jimmy Contreras (www.PhillyStreetStyle.com) recommended that I make an appointment at Unveiled (another cute boutique in Philadelphia). The owner, Frannie Erace, was probably one of the nicest people I have ever met. Her new bridal salon in Society Hill-Philadelphia is gorgeous. Lots of pinks & white everywhere….plus a runway! I made an appointment during the ANAIS COLLEZIONI trunk show in late January. There was one dress I had seen in the magazines that I wanted to rule out. It was very pretty, it looked amazing on but it wasn’t enough for me…no WOW factor!

Not my dream dress!

Frannie & my mother even got me in the most “bridal” dress & convinced me that it was the one…. “it’s breathtaking” i believe someone said. I now look back at the photos of myself in that dress and laugh!! It was a standard strapless gown with lace & lots of flowers…plus a long train! EWW, GROSS! I looked stupid. Note to brides-to-be: Don’t be convinced of a dress that you don’t feel & never loose site of your own vision.

Kleinfeld’s & Brides by Danielle appointments booked!

After two unsuccessful bridal appointments, I made “serious” appointments at Brides by Danielle (13th Street-Philadelphia) & Kleinfeld’s in NYC. By “serious,” I mean that I could ultimately find & purchase my dream dress. During both appointments, a JLM Couture trunk show was also scheduled (some of my favorite designers).  My appointments were scheduled for late February. In addition to booking my appointment at Kleinfeld’s, I also applied for “Say Yes to the Dress!” If you haven’t seen the show, you must be living under a rock!

Until next blog post….XOXO

Leave a Reply

