DIY Garter Project

I am going to attempt to be “crafty”….and by attempt, I mean go shopping at Michaels & AC Moore for supplies.  My mission is to create a vintage lace garter for my wedding. Instead of paying ~$40 for a garter on Etsy.com, I am making it a DIY project. I enlisted the help of my grandmother, mother & sisters for sewing needs & support! After telling them my idea of making my own lace garter, we decided we should ALL make one! Although I am getting married first, my sisters will now have their own garter for their future wedding (and the memory of making their own garter with our grandmother & mother).

For a special touch, we plan to use my mother’s bridal gown for the lace material (something old)!

Below are photos of garters you can buy on Etsy.com, which I plan to use for my own design vision.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

