First Fitting at Kleinfeld

Over the last few weeks, it has hit me that I am actually getting married in LESS than 3 months…and I know the time between now and then is going to fly by! My big day is almost here. A day I have dreamed about as a little girl. A wedding I have envisioned far longer than actually knowing my soon-to-be husband. Yes, girls are weird. I mean what guy has ever thought or dreamed about his wedding growing up?

kleinfeld
First Fitting Appointment with my Bridesmaids

I will always love everything bridal and wedding related. The big bridal festivities & moments are the best! I loved receiving the phone call that my dress was in! I immediately paid the balance for my dress & scheduled my next appointment….My first fitting!

onway
Enroute to Kleinfeld with my dress!

I was so anxious for my first fitting…I just wanted to see & try on my dress! I obsessively checked my iPhone countdown app to watch the time go down….getting closer to my actual appointment!

My original first fitting appointment was scheduled for mid-March but I rescheduled it a month early to be at Kleinfeld while Lazaro’s trunk show was in town. I just love all his dresses! I had bought my dress almost exactly a year ago to the date at Lazaro’s trunk show last February. There was no way I was waiting another month to try on my gown. Plus, I wanted the opportunity to meet Lazaro again! Yes, smart bride here 🙂

photo

A week before my first fitting I got a call from TLC that they wanted to film my appointment for TLC’s show, “Say Yes To The Dress.” I was so shocked TLC called me, and I was beyond giddy about the opportunity to be on one of my favorite reality TV shows. I told all my bridesmaids to get ready, we are filming!! I believe TLC is planning a future episode featuring the designer, Lazaro.

lazaro2
Lazaro and I

My first fitting took place last weekend. Since I live in Philadelphia, I decided to have a slumber party at my cousin’s place in Hoboken, NJ. I wanted to be closer to NYC so there was more time to sleep and get ready in the morning. We had to be at Kleinfeld at 10:30am to check-in with the film crew, and I also wanted to check out Kleinfeld’s accessories. I still don’t know what jewelry I want to wear on my wedding day!!

kleinfeld2
Say Yes To The Dress Filming at Kleinfeld

I was a big bowl of nerves walking into Kleinfeld and the feeling lasted until we left! My appointment felt like a dream. This wasn’t really happening in real life. I was in complete shock about everything going on that morning at Kleinfeld.

Once we checked in, I was greeted by TLC’s film crew to get a mic on. The TLC film crew were all so sweet & a lot of fun! But that didn’t matter because throughout the taping and interviews, I was so nervous! I honestly could not even form proper sentences. I blame my long week of endless hours being at the hospital with my mom, work demands & getting ready for my NYC Bachelorette weekend. I think my body was exhausted, but I just kept going.

The whole taping experience was pretty cool. A first for me! My plan was to force myself to be comfortable with public speaking but I must admit, I think I failed! I am the absolute worst at speaking and answering questions on demand. But regardless, the entire morning was a lot of fun!

When we finally started & began taping, my Kleinfeld Fitter, Stella, welcomed our group in the waiting area and walked us back to my dressing room. I could NOT wait to see my dress for the first time in a year! It was a special moment. My dress was on display, hanging up on a hangar in my dressing room! Ugh, i just wanted to grab it and put it on right away.

Since I can’t go into details (future hubby reads my blog), I will just say that my dress looked exactly how I remembered…it was everything & more! After admiring the dress on the hanger, Stella shut the curtains so I could get into my dress. My bridesmaids sat on the bench outside the curtain eagerly waiting for the big reveal. It took about ten minutes until I got to show off my dress since Stella had to pin all my alternation needs….the dress was loose on my body.

My mom was “present” at the appointment thru iPhone’s FaceTime app. She was back in Philadelphia at University of Pennsylvania recovering from her surgery. Thank you technology for allowing her to be apart of my 1st fitting!

Towards the end of my appointment, Vera (Alternations Manager) and the designer Lazaro stopped by to see me in my dress! Luckiest bride ever….Lazaro was present when I bought my dress & to oversee my 1st fitting. He made sure that I got the proper fitting so the dress would look perfect, the way he created it! I could also see that both Stella & Vera really enjoy assisting the brides with their dresses. It was very memorable having everyone around me at my 1st fitting!

The appointment finally came to an end….with lots of alternation needs. I can’t wait to try on my dress again with all the proper adjustments. I want my dress to fit perfectly!!

Thank you Kleinfeld, Lazaro & my bridesmaids for being a part of my 1st Fitting! 

Leave a Reply

